Davis headlines NCRA at Humboldt Speedway



June 26, 2018 - 11:52 AM

Tad Davis competes in the NCRA Modified race on Friday at Humboldt Speedway. FINISHLINE PHOTOGRAPHY/DAYTON SUTTERBY

Racing: Humboldt Speedway

HUMBOLDT — When the alarm went off this morning, Tad Davis got up and went to work knowing that he put in a long evening of hard work to pick up an ever-elusive NCRA Modified victory at Humboldt Speedway on Friday night.

Davis, a Mt. Hope native, held off hard hitters such as Arizona’s RC Whitwell and current track points leader Tanner Mullens for 25 circuits to pick up his first NCRA victory. Current NCRA points leader Cody Schniepp of Wichita ran a solid fourth while Nevada, Missouri’s John Sheets rounded out the top five. Heat race wins went to Whitwell, Sheets and Derby, Kansas driver Scott Green.

Also in action on Friday night, Ray’s Metal Depot /NASCAR B Modifieds hit the track with current points leader Cody Jolly seeing his points lead shrink after picking up six A feature wins. Tyler Kidwell, who has been on a tear lately, picked up his second win at Humboldt Speedway this season. Kidwell, using his pole position starting spot, led every lap on his way to victory. Matthew Kay and Kenton Allen dueled for second with Kay holding on for the runner-up position. Allen, Clint Johnson and Luke Phillips rounded out the top five. Johnson was easily the hard charger of the evening finishing fourth from his 23rd starting spot. Heat race wins went to Kidwell, Kay and Allen.

July 29, 2018
May 7, 2018
May 1, 2017
April 26, 2017