Kidwell earns second straight win



August 19, 2019 - 9:57 AM

Tyler Kidwell speeds around the corner Friday night at Humboldt Speedway. Kidwell earned his fourth straight win of the season. DAYTON SUTTERBY/FINISHLINE PHOTOGRAPHY

Humboldt Speedway — Tyler Kidwell picked up his second win in a row in Ray’s Metal Depot / NASCAR B Modifieds at Humboldt Speedway in dramatic fashion. Kidwell, riding the fast, high line around the rim, outdistanced Matthew Kay and Bryce Weldon. Kidwell’s win tightened the points race which sees Andy Bryant still in first. Rounding out the top were Levi McGowen and Brian McGowen. Heat race wins went to Kidwell, Weldon and Paden Phillips.

In Home Savings Bank Factory Stocks, Chanute’s Jacob Ellison picked up his second win in a row and tightened the points race with one race remaining. Ellison, racing side by side with points leader Derrek Wilson and Scott Collins, wrestled the lead away on a lightning-fast track. Collins would come home second with Wilson third. Ethan Vance and Jon Westhoff rounded out the top five. Heat race wins went to Wilson and Collins. Dalton Garrison picked up his seventh win of the year over Devin Irvin and Dan Daniels. Daniels, starting on the pole, led the opening laps and battled hard with Garrison. Garrison slipped by Daniels and held off a hard-charging Irvin for the win. Daniels, Nick Fritch, and Chris Kircher completed the top five. Heat race wins went to Garrison and Daniels.

O’Reilly Auto Parts Sport Compacts saw Barry Luthi, Overbrook,  pick up the win, distancing himself from Allen Jesseph and Cayden Vance. The win, number six on year, wrapped up the season championship which will come to an end next Friday. Heat race wins went to Rick Andres and Luthi.

July 15, 2019
May 20, 2019
April 22, 2019
May 7, 2018