Mustang wrestlers lose; ready for home matches Thursday



February 10, 2010 - 12:00 AM

PITTSBURG — Iola High wrestlers look for a better night on the mat come Thursday. The Mustangs host their first-ever Southeast Kansas League double dual with Independence and Coffeyville coming to the IHS gym.
Iola takes on Coffeyville at 5:30 p.m., then Coffeyville wrestles Independence. Finishing up the night of wrestling will have Iola facing Independence.
“We’re hoping to finish out the year on a high note Thursday. We’re also hoping for a good turnout of fans to support the team,” said Ron Schomaker, Mustang head coach.
“We had a rough night Tuesday against two good teams.”
Iola was at Pittsburg Tuesday in SEK action. The Mustangs lost 66-10 to Pittsburg and 48-16 to Fort Scott. Pittsburg beat Fort Scott 54-9.
Marcus Sullivan, Iola’s 160-pound wrestler, claimed a 23-10 win over Brendan Maxwell of Pittsburg and beat Fort Scott’s John Metcalf 10-2. Iola’s Denton Christian had the other win against Pittsburg, pinning Britton Carter in the 171-pound match.
Iola scored points against Fort Scott for forfeit wins at 140 pounds for Joe Myrick and at 189 points for Stephen McDonald.
All Iola losses were by pins.
At 125 pounds, Zeph Larney lost to Austin Haake, Pittsburg, Justin Sharp, Fort Scott. At 130 pounds, Brent Clark lost to Mario Corado, Pittsburg, and Victor Hughes, Fort Scott.
Lee Berg wrestled at 135 for Iola, losing to Jacob Wools, Pittsburg, and Michael Durossette, Fort Scott. Myrick lost to Brent Koehn, Pittsburg, at 140.
In the 152-pound matches, Devin Culler lost to Daniel Blair, Pittsburg, and Blake Cowen, Fort Scott. At 171, Drew Shepherd lost to Dane Cummings, Fort Scott.
 At 189, McDonald lost to Austin Winner, Pittsburg. At 285, Chris Lynn lost to Beau Bennett, Pittsburg, and Drew Bryant, Fort Scott.
In junior varsity matches, Iola’s Jason Tidd, at 130 pounds, was pinned by Jacob Cloniger, Pittsburg, and beat Tionna Durossette, Fort Scott, 6-0.

February 11, 2012
January 7, 2012
February 11, 2011
February 12, 2010