Advance voting for city, school elections ends Monday



October 31, 2019 - 10:24 AM

More than 130 Allen Countians have voted in advance of Tuesday’s city and school board elections across the county.

The election for a number of city and school board races is Tuesday.

Advance voting can be done until 6:30 p.m. today; from 7:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Friday; and until noon Monday.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.


THERE are several competitive races across the county.

In Iola, Mayor Jon Wells is being challenged by Larry Walden and Councilman Ron Ballard.

Voters in Ward 3 will choose between Kim Peterson, who was appointed to the Council in January, and challenger Kyle King. Peterson and King were the top two vote-getters of four candidates in the August primary. Ward 3 covers the southwest quadrant of Iola.

In Iola’s Ward 4, the southeast quadrant, Steve French and Ben Alexander are on the ballot, although Alexander announced earlier this month he had abandoned his bid for the seat. Incumbent Aaron Franklin declined to run for re-election.

In Ward 1 (northwest), Nickolas Kinder has filed to replace Chase Martin, who is not seeking re-election. Kinder was the only candidate to file.

Nobody filed for the City Council from Iola’s Ward 2 in the northeast part of town, which likely means a write-in candidacy will decide who gets the seat. Mike McKinnis and Carl Slaugh both have said they are pursuing write-in candidacies. Daniel Mathew did not seek re-election.


ALLEN COMMUNITY College has four candidates to fill three seats.

Mary Kay Heard is the only incumbent to seek re-election. Also on the ballot are Gena Clounch, Vicki Curry and Lonnie Larson. Incumbents Spencer Ambler and Ken McGuffin did not file for re-election.

USD 257 has four candidates for four seats. Incumbents Douglas Dunlap, Jen Taylor and Dan Willis have filed to run again, as has former school board member Tony Leavitt. Mary Apt declined to run again for her seat. This will be the first year for an all at-large election for USD 257.


IN HUMBOLDT, residents are being asked to approve a half-cent sales tax, with proceeds going toward street repair projects.

Meanwhile, Mayor Nobby Davis filed for re-election, and is unchallenged.

Also unchallenged are City Council members Paul Cloutier, incumbent, and Jeffrey C. Bowman in Ward 1, which covers all parts of town south of Bridge Street. Incumbent Sunny Shreeve and Otis Crawford are the only two candidates for the two Ward 2 vacancies as well.

A write-in candidate will be necessary to fill a USD 258 Board of Education seat, because only three candidates, Drake Tilman, Sandra Whitaker and Josh Wrestler have filed for the four seats up for grabs. Whitaker and Wrestler are incumbents. Board members Donald Hauser and Joe Works did not file for re-election.


LAHARPE residents will have a choice to make for City Council.

Incumbent Danny Ware Jr. is joined on the ballot by Rosetta Greathouse and Austin Lee, with two seats up for grabs. Incumbent David Lee did not seek re-election.

LaHarpe Mayor Mae Crowell is the only candidate to file for her seat.


IN MORAN, nobody filed for mayor, and incumbent Corliss Lynes was the only candidate for one of two City Council seats.

Marmaton Valley USD 256 is a bit more contested, with five candidates for four at-large seats. Incumbents Jim Armstrong Sr., Bob Rhodes, Kris Smith and Mark Spillman all have filed for re-election. Also filing for school board is Joe Sutton.


ONE OTHER contested race will be decided in Allen County. Three candidates will fill a pair of at-large positions as part of the Southwind Extension District Board of Directors for District 10. Carol Crawford is joining incumbents Darrell Monfort and Job Springer on the ballot.