Murphy elected as Allen County sheriff



November 7, 2012 - 12:00 AM

In the only local countywide race, Bryan Murphy got nearly two-thirds of the vote as he won a four-year term as Allen County sheriff.
“It’s really humbling the people have that much faith and trust in you,” Murphy said Tuesday evening. “The way I see it, the transition will be seamless,” in his succession of two-term Sheriff Tom Williams.
Murphy consistently registered vote totals of 65 percent or better as returns were carried to the county clerk’s office. It quickly was apparent he would have a solid victory over Skyler Clark, a former officer running as an independent. Murphy defeated Jared Froggatte, a former county deputy, in the August Republican primary.
The final tally was Murphy 3,283, Clark 1,834.
Murphy said he anticipates no changes in personnel or how law enforcement is conducted in the sheriff’s office.
“It has ran smoothly under Tom (Williams),” he said. “It’s a good department with a bunch of good deputies. I’ve been fortunate to have been able to work with Tom. That’s prepared me well to be sheriff.”
The only immediate addition will be Jerry Daniels as undersheriff. Daniels is a former Humboldt and Highway Patrol officer who has a helicopter service he operates from his rural Humboldt home. He previously flew helicopters for KHP, the Army in Iraq and with a medical service.
“We’ll start getting Jerry up to speed right away,” Murphy said.
Narcotics intervention is among areas where he will focus his efforts, Murphy said, and noted that he takes seriously the “protect and serve” motto of law enforcement.

ON THE EAST side of the county, voters gave Republican Jeff Locke a 348-255 edge over Democrat Bob Grant, but districtwide Grant won 5,151 to 4,174.
The Second District meanders into a Crawford County, a Democratic stronghold in southeast Kansas.
Ed Bideau, Republican running unopposed in the Ninth District, garnered 3,823 votes in Allen County, all of which is in the district.
Results of other voting in the county:
President: Mitt Romney (R) 3,261, Barack Obama (D) 1,842; U.S. House, Second District: Lynn Jenkins (R) 3,540, Tobias Schlingensiepen (D) 1,369; Kansas Senate, 12th District, Caryn Tyson (R) 3,256, Denise Cassells (D) 1,804; county commissioner, Second District, Tom Williams (R) 1,350; county commissioner, Third District, Jim Talkington (R) 1,589; county clerk, Sherrie L. Riebel (R) 4,746; county treasurer, Darolyn Maley (R) 4,525; register of deeds, Cara Barkdoll (R) 4,600; county attorney, Wade Bowie (R) 4,381.
Jenkins and Tyson won their races and Romney bettered Obama statewide.

October 24, 2012
August 6, 2012
June 2, 2012
February 9, 2012