Derek Jeter highlights 18 newcomers on Hall of Fame ballot


November 19, 2019 - 10:01 AM

Derek Jeter, chief executive officer of the Miami Marlins, speaks at a press conference. MATIAS OCNER/MIAMI HERALD/TNS

NEW YORK (AP) — Derek Jeter is among 18 newcomers on the 2020 Hall of Fame ballot. He is likely to be an overwhelming choice to join former New York Yankees teammate Mariano Rivera in Cooperstown after the reliever last year became the first unanimous pick by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

A 14-time All-Star shortstop and five-time World Series champion, Jeter hit .310 with 3,465 hits in 20 seasons and was the 1996 AL Rookie of the Year. He has been CEO of the Miami Marlins the past two seasons.

Other newcomers announced Monday by the BBWAA include Cliff Lee, Josh Beckett, Jason Giambi, Paul Konerko, Rafael Furcal, Bobby Abreu and Alfonso Soriano.

September 7, 2021
January 27, 2021
October 31, 2019
January 23, 2019