Humboldt Speedway gets 2010 racing season under way


April 6, 2010 - 12:00 AM

HUMBOLDT — It’s official. The first races of the 2010 season are in the books at Humboldt Speedway.
Weather conditions moved the start Friday to Saturday night but fans got plenty of action on the track.
The local dirt track has four classes racing in 2010. Humboldt added a “pure stock” class which is for those drivers just starting in the stock car racing sport.
“It’s really a minimum cost type class,” said Rhenda Whitworth. She and husband Ron own and operate the Speedway. They began their 20th season.
Winning the first pure stock feature was Mike Aiello.
Floyd Taggart ran second with Jeremy Willard, Tony Morris and Eddie Coulter rounding out the top five.
Derrek Wilson captured the factory stock feature race.
Doug Scism challenged for the lead spot but finished second. John Ros-sen took third with Scott Lucke and Brandon Weide crossing the finish line fourth and fifth in a field of 10.
After recording wins in their respective heat races, Levi McGowen and Dalton Kirk led the way in the B-Mod feature race. McGowen got out quick and stayed in front with Kirk battling for second with the 2009 points champion Paden Phillips.
Kirk finished second with Phillips in third place. Tim VanGotten placed fourth and Jimmie Davis took fifth.
In the biggest class feature of the night, defending points champion Justin Folk took the checkered flag, winning the modified feature. Brian Bolin finished second followed by Scott Daniels, Jesse Folk Jr. and Rodney Sigg in fifth.
There were 24 drivers contending in the modified race.

June 12, 2020
March 9, 2011
September 15, 2010
May 4, 2010