McGowen claims first career win at Humboldt

Jackson McGowen added to his family's racing legacy at Humboldt Speedway Friday. McGowen won Friday's modified feature in thrilling fashion.



May 17, 2021 - 9:34 AM

HUMBOLDT — Jackson McGowen, Humboldt, an up- and-coming Midwest Modified driver, recorded his first career feature win in the Love’s Travel Stop Midwest Modifieds Friday at Humboldt Speedway.

McGowen comes from a long line of dirt track racing stars, and the heritage showed. He took the lead mid-race, and proceeded to hold off some talented competition. Veteran Scott Collins of Humboldt finished second, with Chanute’s Tyler Davis, Jon Westhoff and Joey Decoster rounding out the top five of the 15-car field.

Tyler Kidwell, meanwhile, is no stranger to Victory Lane. Kidwell recorded his first feature win of 2021 in Ray’s Metal Depot B-Mod feature action, topping the competitive 16-car field. Jake Richards of Lansing powered his Dodge-powered machine into second. Pittsburg pilot Brian McGowen bested suspension woes late in the race to take third. Fourth went to Jerry Morgan of Fort Scott, with Humboldt’s Dan Daniels locking down fifth.

Chanute driver J.T. Thurman made his season debut in Home Savings Bank Factory Stock’s Friday, and promptly ran away from the other 12 competitors. However, post-race tech inspections revealed illegal rear suspension components, resulting in Thurman’s disqualification, and giving the feature win to Derrek Wilson of Chanute. Bryson Kitterman of Coffeyville was second, Humboldt’s Scott Collins was third, Coffeyville’s Brian Knisley was fourth, and Josh Piatt of Neodesha fifth.

Humboldt’s Brandon Vink dominated the USRA Tuners feature, leading wire to wire for the win. Robert Moore of Humboldt was second, Clint Haigler of Humboldt ran third. Lady driver Maddyson Tyler of Parsons secured fourth, while another Parsons driver, Jeremy Tyler, took fifth in the 10-car field. 

Friday also was Kids Night with intermission bicycle races. Knox Hufferd of Iola rang up his first racing victory in the 6-and-under class. Rorick Trester of Moran won the 7-12 race.

Humboldt Speedway hosts a USRA $1000-to-win B-Mod event, as well as a full slate of racing in all classes.