Iola forensics team takes Pioneer League title

Around Town

March 7, 2024 - 2:14 PM

Iola High School forensics students earned first place in the Pioneer League. Front from left, Shaun McLaughlin, Stephanie Fees, Franklin Kerr, Max Andersen, Cole Moyer, Kaeden Vega, Everett Glaze, Hailey Stogsdill; back, Sarah Ross, Cara Porter, Brigham Folk, Bethany Miller, Demarco Ross, Jenna Morrison, Layla Newkirk and Alyssa Williams. Courtesy photo

Iola High School brought home the honor of being named Pioneer League Champions for the third year in a row on Saturday, March 2, at Iola.

Individual results follow:

Oral Interpretation of Prose:

Max Andersen – 1st

Layla Newkirk – 2nd

Shaun McLaughlin – 3rd

Oral Interpretation of Poetry:

Max Andersen – 1st

Demarco Ross – 2nd

Shaun McLaughlin – 3rd

Program of Interpretation:

Cole Moyer – 3rd

Sarah Ross – 5th

Humorous Solo Acting:

Cara Porter – 2nd