Votes spark interest



October 21, 2010 - 12:00 AM

With about half the 20 days of advance voting remaining for the Nov. 2 general election, Allen Countians have set a record.
“We had 620 people vote in advance during the presidential election in 2008, the most ever up until then,” said Sherrie Riebel, Allen County clerk and election officer. “Through Wednesday, 686 people have requested ballots and we’ve had 345 ballots either voted in the office or returned,” she said.
The catalyst has been two referendums.
One, decided by all Allen Countians, will determine whether a countywide quarter-cent sales tax will be in place the next 10 years to support construction, equipping and operation of a new Allen County Hospital.
The other, decided by Iola voters, will determine the size of the city’s governing body. A “yes” vote will mean four commissioners, one from each ward, along with a mayor selected at large. A “no” vote will mean an eight-member council, two from each ward, plus a mayor elected at large to moderate meetings, represent the city and vote to break ties.
Riebel said she was surprised at the early turnout and anticipated the total vote would be substantial.
In addition to the referendums, Don Mann, Moran, is challenging incumbent Republican Dick Works, Humboldt, for the First District county commission seat. The district comprises most of the south part of the county, including Humboldt, Moran, Elsmore and Savonburg. Mann is running as an independent. Also, statewide and congressional races will be decided.
Voters may request advance ballots be mailed to them until noon Oct. 29, and may vote in person in Riebel’s office until noon Nov. 1.
All ballots taken home must be returned by the time polls close at 7 p.m. on Election Day , including ballots returned by mail regardless of when they are mailed.
Voters who choose to vote in traditional manner on Nov. 2 may, from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m., at one of five polling places.
People living in all four wards of Iola and North and South Iola, Carlyle and Geneva townships will vote at the North Community Building, 505 N. Buckeye.
The polling place for East Elm, which includes LaHarpe, and Deer Creek townships will be LaHarpe Senior Center, 111 S. Main St.
West Elm Township, including Gas, voters will mark ballots at Gas City Hall, 228 N. Taylor St.
Voters in both wards of Humboldt and Cottage Grove, Humboldt, Logan and Salem townships will find ballots at First Baptist Church, Seventh and Osage streets, Humboldt.
People living in Moran, Elsmore and Savonburg and Marmaton, Osage and North and South Elsmore townships will vote at the Moran Senior/Community Center, 335 N. Cedar St.

August 3, 2022
July 2, 2020
August 6, 2014
November 1, 2012