NASCAR announces 2020 HOF class nominees

Dale Earnhardt Jr. headlines the new nominees for NASCAR's 2020 class, but even more legendary names are on the ballot.



April 8, 2020 - 10:06 AM

Former NASCAR driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. is introduced prior to the NASCAR Cup Series 62nd Annual Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on February 16, 2020 in Daytona Beach, Florida.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Burton and Carl Edwards were among the new nominees for NASCAR’s next Hall of Fame class announced Tuesday under a revamped voting protocol.

Voters for 11 years elected five members per class first from a list of 25 candidates; it was trimmed to 20 beginning with the 2015 class.

The new process starting this year splits the nominees into three ballots; Modern candidates, Pioneer candidates and Landmark candidates. Two entries from the 10 Modern candidates will be elected, along with one entry apiece from the five-candidate Pioneer and Landmark categories.

June 17, 2020
November 21, 2019
August 15, 2019
August 18, 2018