LaHarpe alumni reunite after COVID

The saying “time flies” did not apply to the folks who attended the 2021 LaHarpe High School alumni meeting June 26.


June 29, 2021 - 8:07 AM

The saying “time flies” did not apply to the folks who attended the 2021 LaHarpe High School alumni meeting June 26.

The consensus was it had been a long time since they had visited with classmates, as COVID restrictions kept alumni at home in June 2020.

Sharon Chandler Utley, president, opened with a prayer for members who could not be there. Harry Lee led the flag salute.

Elaine Stewart and her family served a meal to 55 graduates and friends.

Scholarships were awarded to Cooper Jaro, Allie Utley, Mykayla Ard, Thane Meadows and Jonathan Poffenbarger. The scholarship has been supported by members of LaHarpe High School and friends since 2001.

Linda Chandler Call gave a memorial for classmates who died since 2019.

Officers who served this year will continue into the next year: Sharon Chandler Utley, president; Linda Chandler Call, vice president; William Watson, treasurer; Linda Henegar Sweany, secretary.

Attending were David and Peggy Call Paddock, Ottawa; Terry and Julia Muk Marvin, Edwardsville; Harry and Joyce Hay Lee, Steve and Shirley Utley, Steve and Judy Smith, Richard and Sherrie Manbeck, Ron and Irene Seifker Coltrane, Linda Henegar Sweany, all of LaHarpe; Sharon Chandler Utley, William and Linda Watson, Ray and Marsha Smith, Allie Utley, Jim Appling, Curtis and Amy Utley, Kim Swearingen, Mary Manbeck Clay, all of Iola; Sunny Ott and Sue, Gas; Judy Ensminger Welch, Elaine Hawk Jackman, Wayne and Nancy Chandler, all of Moran; Glen Cox, Overbrook; Cecil and Sandra Colgin Beaman, Belle Plaine; Sharon McVey Malloy, Raymond Whitlock, Wichita; Dale Houghton, Fredonia; Meghan Crammer, Overland Park; Cooper Jaro, Cindy Jaro, Sandra Morrison Ellis, all of Humboldt; Maxine Vincent Jackson, Chanute; Linda Chandler Call, Yates Center; Ruth Manbeck Caudell, Gene and Bonnie Henegar Vincent, Colony; Phil and Ida Manbeck Andruss, Topeka; Allen and Barbara Manbeck Johnson, Palo Pinto, Texas; Lynn Vincent Huffman, Weatherford, Texas; Lawrence Sherwood, Miami, Okla.

The next meeting will begin at 11 a.m. June 25, 2022, at the LaHarpe Community Building, with dinner at 1 p.m.