Folk ends slump, nabs modified win


July 5, 2011 - 12:00 AM

HUMBOLDT — Jess Folk Jr. broke out of a season-long victory slump Friday, thanks to a couple of simple adjustments to his modified racer.
Folk, a former Humboldt Speedway track champion, declined to reveal the adjustments, but they paid off in a big way. He dominated his heat race, then led wire to wire in the Allen County Chiropractic USAA Modified feature. The win was his first of the year at Humboldt.
Taking second was Folk’s brother, Justin “Whitey” Folk, followed by Scott Daniels, John Allen and Brian Folk.
Ethan Lamons picked up his second factory stock feature win in as many weeks. Scott Stuart challenged but had to settle for second place. Derrick Wilson was third, Brandon Tindle fourth and Brandon Weide fifth.
Jeremy Chambers held a commanding lead throughout to claim the B-Mod feature. Tim VanGotten was second, Dalton Kirk third, Jimmy Davis fourth and Riley Whitworth in fifth.
David Matlock bested the field to win the pure stock feature checked flag. Levi Phillips finished second, followed by Dennis Aiello, Matthew Kay and Floyd Taggart.
Regular racing resumes Friday at the speedway.
Humboldt Speedway
Race Results
July 1
Whitworth Construction
Pure Stock
HEAT 1 — Tyler Kidwell, Jeremy Willard, Matthew Kay, Levi Phillips, Derek Michael, George Reimer.
HEAT 2 — Dennis Aiello, David Matlock, Floyd Taggart, Stetson Deets, Duke Turner.
HEAT 3 — Blake Kisner, Mike Aiello, Eddie Coulter, Norman Mackley, John Maloney.
A FEATURE — David Matlock, Levi Phillips, Dennis Aiello, Matthew Kay, Floyd Taggart. George Reimer, Tyler Kidwell, Jeremy Willard, John Maloney, Eddie Coulter, Stetson Deets, Derek Michael, Norman Mackley, Blake Kisner, Duke Turner.
Factory Stock
HEAT 1 — Scott Stuart, Jeremy Wilson, Derek Yocham, Brandon Weide, Tim Phillips.
HEAT 2 — Ethan Lamons, Brandon Tindle, Derrek Wilson, Billy Shadden.
A FEATURE — Ethan Lamons, Scott Stuart, Derrek Wilson, Brandon Tindle, Brandon Weide, Tim Phillips, Derek Yocham, Billy Shadden.
EZ Lock & Key B-Mod
HEAT 1 — Jeremy Chambers, Jimmie Davis, Dalton Kirk, Josh Schooler, Cole Becker.
HEAT 2 — Tim VanGotten, Jerry Kustanborter, Nathan Schmidt, Riley Whitworth, Brian Heg.
A FEATURE — Jeremy Chambers, Tim VanGotten, Dalton Kirk, Jimmie Davis, Riley Whitworth, Nathan Schmidt, Jerry Kustanborter, Josh Schooler, Brian Heg.
Allen County Chiropractic USRA Modified
HEAT 1 — Jess Folk Jr., Brian Bolin, Jerry Schniepp, Allan Broers, Dennis Bishop, Gene Hogan.
HEAT 2 — Scott Daniels, Justin Folk, Ryan Whitworth, Jon Sheets, Mike Lawrence, Cody Schniepp.
HEAT 3 — John Allen, Casey Jesseph, Rick Murcko, Darren Fuqua, Justin Becker, Dustin Lawrence.
A FEATURE — Jess Folk Jr., Justin Folk, Scott Daniels, John Allen, Brian Bolin, Casey Jesseph, Darren Fuqua, Rick Murcko, Ryan Whitworth, Jon Sheets, Allan Broers, Mike Lawrence, Gene Hogan, Dustin Lawrence, Dennis Bishop, Cody Schniepp, Jerry Schniepp, Justin Becker.

August 9, 2011
April 19, 2011
March 22, 2011
May 11, 2010