Iola, Marmaton Valley forensic teams compete at Neodesha

IHS takes sweepstakes honors, MVHS gets third.



January 29, 2020 - 1:52 PM

Iola High School forensics team members who won the team sweepstakes Saturday in Neodesha were, front row from left, Luke Wicoff, Sadrie Overall, Allie Fager, Macie Hoag, Elsie Fleming, Jesse Taylor and Hannah Andersen; second row, Haley Carlin, Lexie Vega, River Hess, Jon Poffenbarger, Isabella Duke and Bobby Lewis. COURTESY PHOTO Photo by Courtesy Photo

NEODESHA — Iola and Marmaton Valley high school forensics teams competed at the Neodesha Invitational Saturday.

Iola High School’s forensics team brought home a sweepstakes victory, and Marmaton Valley’s team placed third.


Iola’s squad brought home five individual titles on the day.

Individual results:

Oral interpretation of prose: 1. Hannah Andersen, 3. Allie Fager, 5. Macie Hoag.

Oral interpretation of poetry: 1. Jesse Taylor, 2. Isabella Duke.

Humorous solo acting: 2. River Hess.

Serious solo acting: 1. Lexie Vega, 2. Elsie Fleming, 5. Macie Hoag.

Duet acting: 1. Haley Carlin and Jon Poffenbarger.

Improvised duet acting: 1. Lexie Vega and River Hess, 2. Haley Carlin and Sadrie Overall.

Impromptu speaking: 6. Bobby Lewis.

Informative Speaking: 5. Isabella Duke.

Competing for Marmaton Valley High School’s forensics team Saturday in Neodesha were, front row from left, Rachel Shaffer and Carissa Mattox; second row, Braden Allison, Allison Heim and Tea Smith; back, Nate McAloon. COURTESY PHOTO


Two entries qualified for state competition.

The team’s one-act play cast took first overall, thus qualifying for state. Also qualifying was Allison Heim, who placed second in extemporaneous speaking.

Individual results:

Oral interpretation of prose: 5. Carissa Mattox.

Serious solo acting: 3. Nate McAloon, 4. Tea Smith.

Informative speaking: 4. Nate McAloon.

Improvised duet acting: 3. Allison Heim and Rachel Shaffer.

Extemporaneous speaking: 2. Allison Heim.

Humorous solo acting: 3. Rachel Shaffer.

Impromptu speaking: 4. Nate McAloon, 5. Braden Allison.